Marjolaine Biscop

In the era of digital surveillance, investigative journalists are increasingly turning to anonymity technologies to protect their communications with their sources. The goal of my research project is to understand how the use of these technologies impacts the practices and representations of investigative journalism in Canada.

I first seek to determine to what extent the configuration of the social space of this professional body is jostled by the emergence of these tools. What new actors are involved in the survey process and what impact do these changes have on survey methods and journalistic productions? How do the relations between journalists evolve? What new skills do investigative journalists need to acquire and how does this change their "typical profile"?

I am also interested in what these tools provoke in the relationship with journalistic sources. Does Digital Anonymity Encourage Individuals to Alert? Does the means of transmitting information impact the profile of journalistic sources? How are the shape and content of data leaks impacted? Are the revelations impacted and if so, how?

Finally, I want to know if the representations that investigative journalists have of their profession and their role in society are modified by the use of these tools. If yes, how ?

This study is qualitative and based on interviews with Canadian investigative journalists.

This content has been updated on 8 February 2022 at 16 h 54 min.

Marjolaine Biscop

A l’ère de la surveillance numérique, les journalistes d’enquête se tournent de plus en plus vers les technologies d’anonymat pour protéger leurs communications avec leurs sources. L’objectif de mon projet de recherche est de comprendre comment l’utilisation de ces technologies impacte les pratiques et les représentations du journalisme d’enquête au Canada.

Je cherche d’abord à déterminer dans quelle mesure la configuration de l’espace social de ce corps professionnel est bousculée par l’émergence de ces outils. Quelles nouveaux acteurs entrent en jeu dans le processus d’enquête et quel est l’impact de ces changements sur les méthodes d’enquête ainsi que sur les productions journalistiques ? Comment les relations que les journalistes entretiennent entre eux évoluent-elles ? Quelles nouvelles compétences les journalistes d’enquête doivent-ils acquérir et en quoi cela modifie leur « profil-type » ?

Je m’intéresse aussi à ce que ces outils provoquent dans le rapport avec les sources journalistiques. L’anonymat numérique encourage-t-il les individus à donner l’alerte ? Le moyen de transmission des informations impacte-t-il le profil des sources journalistiques ? Comment la forme et le contenu des fuites de données sont quant à eux impactés ? Les révélations sont-elles impactées et si oui, comment ?

Enfin, je cherche à savoir si les représentations que les journalistes d’enquête ont de leur métier et de leur rôle dans la société sont modifiées par l’utilisation de ces outils. Si oui, comment ?

Cette étude est qualitative et basée sur des entrevues avec des journalistes d’investigation canadiens.

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 14 mars 2019 à 10 h 08 min.